The Drolshagen area is part of the Sauerland nature reserve in the Rothaar Mountains: a quiet, wooded landscape of gentle hills. The town of Drolshagen is made up of 57 small and quiet picturesque villages in a natural setting. One of these villages is Essinghausen which received the gold village award for villages in the region, and, in 1998 the silver award for villages across the whole country. Various paths lead along the rippling streams and then uphill through lovely meadows. There are memorable views far and wide over valleys and mountains, - on clear days as far as the Siebengebirge Mountains. Enjoy the fresh air, birdsong in summer or the stillness and silence of the winter landscape.
The Drolshagen area has a great deal to offer to hikers. This varied terrain can be explored using the hiking trails signposted by the Sauerland Hiking Association (SGV) which cover around 140 km. There is an emergency number with coordinates on all hiking signs to ensure your safety.
The area can also be explored by bike. A free map can be obtained from the Drolshagen Citizens’ Office for the four circular cycle routes through the Drolshagen area and the “Agger-Bigge Circuit”. You can find more information and downloads for the cycling and hiking routes for all accessible GPS devices at www.drolshagen-marketing.de.
The history of Drolshagen
On 2nd. March 1477, Drolshagen was granted its freedom by the Archbishop of Cologne, Ruprecht von der Pfalz and acquired both city walls and a market. In May 1838, the city was almost completely destroyed in a fire, with only a few buildings remaining. The quaint little town was then rebuilt with straight streets and junctions at right angles. The town centre today is testament to this time.
The marketplace was established after the fire of 1838, but has only existed in its current form since 1991. The fountain in the centre is a reminder of the interconnections of local history, associated with four sayings of the mystic, Angelus Silesius (1624-1677). After the city was burned down, only the rich citizens were allowed to live on the marketplace and along the main street. The farther the plots of land were from the streets leading off this central area, the more modest were the new buildings constructed during the rebuild. The house on the corner of Annostraße and Kirchplatz in which a restaurant is now located, is one of the first stone buildings in Drolshagen. It was established at the beginning of the 20th. century. Previously there were only half-timbered building with a clay mesh.
Welcome to the town of Drolshagen!